陈 箴

陈箴(1955 至 2000 年)是在巴黎生活工作的中国观念艺术家。出生于上海知名的知识份子和医生世家,成长于中国毛时代的沧桑和艰苦中。在文化大革命最严重的时期,他的家庭还曾被分派知识份子下乡。陈箴在上海工艺美术学校获得正式艺术训练,包括中国传统绘画及雕塑。 1986 年,陈箴移居巴黎,在国立高等美术学院和造型艺术高等研究院学习 。

随着他继续在巴黎生活和实践,他最终放弃传统绘画媒介而采用综合媒体装置,这也是他日后被广为人知的创作形式。 1990 年代风格成熟的作品中,对不同文化和政治语境的「协同作用」,以及他自身身份的二元性进行了探索。陈箴的作品总是将传统中国家具、当地领域的现成品和当代电子设备并置。陈箴运用声音和日常物料,如蜡烛、床、椅子、甚至是便壶,将物理世界与精神和仪式性的世界连系在一起,借以探索物质与精神、社区与个人、内在与外在之间错综复杂且矛盾的关系, 呈现出一种浸淫在过去传统当中又与现在呼应的美感。

1999年,巴黎市政府委托陈箴的《La Danse de la fontaine émergente》,是他的遗作。该纪念碑的工程于2008年由他的遗孀徐敏接手。陈箴的作品列入许多著名机构的收藏中,包括阿尔贝蒂娜博物馆(维也纳),以色列博物馆(耶路撒冷),克勒米勒美术馆(奥特洛),庞毕度中心(巴黎),现代艺术博物馆(纽约),所罗门·R·古根汉美术馆(纽约),泰特现代美术馆(伦敦),特拉维夫艺术博物馆(特拉维夫)和M+ (香港)。

陈箴于2000年12月13日过世,他思想开放和高质素的作品获得国际认同。他的作品曾在世界各地展出,多个国际机构亦曾举办陈箴的个人回顾展,当中包括:《Short-circuits》,HANGAR BICOCCA,米兰(2020);《陈箴:不用去纽约巴黎,生活同样国际化》,洛克邦艺术博物馆,上海,中国(2015);《陈箴:同床异梦》,林冠基金会,北京(2012);《陈箴》,上海美术馆,上海(2006);《陈箴:Silence sonore》,由Jérôme Sans 策划,东京宫,巴黎(2003);《陈箴: Elogio della Magia Nera - In Praise of Black Magic - Eloge de la Magie Noire》,Galleria Civica d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea,杜林,义大利(2000);《陈箴:Inner Body Landscapes》,由Gilbert Vicario策划,ICA - Institute of Contemporary Art, 波士顿(2002);《陈箴》,由Lisa G. Corrin策划,Serpentine Gallery,伦敦(2001);《Jue Chang / Fifty Strokes to Each》,特拉维夫艺术博物馆,特拉维夫(1998);《Fu Dao / Fu Dao, Upside-down Buddha - Arrival at Good Fortune》,CCA - Center for Contemporary Art Kitakyushu,日本(1997);《Field of Waste》,新当代艺术博物馆,纽约(1994);《Light of Confession》,中央博物馆,乌德勒支(1993);《Chen Zhen au Magsasin》,Le Magasin - CNAC,格勒诺布尔(1992)。

他的作品亦于多个国际双年展展出,当中包括: 1997年的里昂当代艺术双年展、Johannesburg 双年展和光州双年展;1998年的Montréal 双年展;以及1999年、2007年和2009年的威尼斯双年展。

Chen Zhen

Chen Zhen (b. China, 1955 – d. Paris, 2000) was one of the most important artists of the 1990s. He set the stage for conceptual art from China and despite his early death had a lasting and significant impact on art history.

Chen Zhen was conceptual artist born in China in 1955, who lived and worked in Paris until his untimely death in 2000. Born in Shanghai to a prominent family of intellectuals and doctors, Chen Zhen's formative years were shaped by the vicissitudes and adversities of living in Maoist China, which were furthered when his family was sent to the countryside for ''re-education'' at the height of the Cultural Revolution. Chen Zhen graduated from the rigorous program of the Shanghai School of Fine and Applied Art, studying diverse mediums including Chinese painting, drawing and sculpture in 1973. In 1986 he moved to Paris to study at the École national supérieure des Beaux-Arts and the Institut des Hautes Etudes en Arts Plastiques.

As he continued to live and practice in Paris, Chen eventually abandoned painting in favor of mixed media installation, for which he became renowned. In his mature works created in the 1990s, Chen Zhen explored the "synergy" between different cultural and political contexts, as well as the duality of his own identity. His installations often encompass motifs from traditional Chinese furniture and objects from the domestic sphere, juxtaposed with contemporary electrical devices. Exploring the intricate and often paradoxical relationship between the material and the spiritual, the community and the individual, interior and exterior, Chen Zhen used sound and everyday materials such as candles, beds, chairs, and even chamber pots, linking the physical world to the spiritual, ritualistic one. The result was an aesthetic immersed in the traditional past but aligned with the present.

In 1999, the city of Paris commissioned Chen Zhen’s La Danse de la fontaine émergente, which was the last work he designed. The construction of the monument was continued posthumously by his wife Xu Min in 2008. Chen Zhen’s works are present in the collections of many renown institutions, The Albertina Museum (Vienna), The Israel Museum (Jerusalem), Kröller-Müller Museum (Otterlo), Centre Pompidou (Paris), The Museum of Modern Art (New York), Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York), Tate (London), Tel Aviv Museum of Art (Tel Aviv), and M+ (Hong Kong).

Chen Zhen died on 13 December 2000. His open-minded approach and the quality of his work won him widespread international recognition. His works have been shown around the world, and he has had solo retrospective exhibitions in a number of important museums and institutions such as: Chen Zhen, Short-circuits, HANGAR BICOCCA - MILANO. Curated by Vicente Todolí (2020); Chen Zhen: Without going to New York and Paris, life could be internationalized, curated by Hou Hanru, Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai (2015); Chen Zhen, Même lit, rêves différents, Faurschou Foundation, Beijing (2012); Chen Zhen, Shanghai Art Museum, Shanghai (2006); Chen Zhen. Silence sonore, curated by Jérôme Sans, Palais de Tokyo, Site de création contemporaine, Paris (2003); Chen Zhen, Elogio della Magia Nera - In Praise of Black Magic - Eloge de la Magie Noire, GAM - Galleria Civica d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea, Turin (2000); Chen Zhen. Inner Body Landscapes, curated by Gilbert Vicario, ICA - Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston (2002); Chen Zhen, curated by Lisa G. Corrin, Serpentine Gallery, London (2001); Jue Chang / Fifty Strokes to Each, Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Tel Aviv (1998); Fu Dao / Fu Dao, Upside-down Buddha - Arrival at Good Fortune, CCA - Center for Contemporary Art, Kitakyushu (1997); Field of Waste, The New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York (1994); Light of Confession, Centraal Museum, Utrecht (1993); Chen Zhen au Magasin, Le Magasin - CNAC, Grenoble (1992).

His work has also participated in international biennales, including: the Lyon Biennale, Johannesburg Biennale and Gwangju Biennale in 1997; the Montréal Biennale in 1998; and the Venice Biennale in 1999, 2007, and 2009.

 

Click here for the digital catalogue